top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHammad Siddique

An Unusual Day

Updated: Oct 24, 2020


A smooth, gloomy day, with a combination of darkness and light marks an unprecedented diurnal in the history of my life. With the seasons between autumn and fall, my blur memory recalls the event to have taken place in February.


With a horrific, tiresome gut feeling, I got up to experience a disguisedly marvelous day. After being forced to get ready for a rather tedious college norm, I made myself sit in the car and drive to the destination.

As usual, my late entry was of no surprise to my peers and mentors as I prepared myself to skim through the remaining trio of lessons. Of abrupt rather boring nature, the classes went by in a wink and finally I made my way back home.


After a sudden halt and an unsynchronized park, I took hold of the gate key and stepped on the rough, unmetalled road to get to my house. Trapped in a filthy environment, I hurriedly unlocked the door and made my way upstairs. Bizarrely, there was no reply to my greeting echo which was usually answered by my mother. After a prompt change of dress and an incomplete rinsing of my upper limbs, I walked down-stairs to the kitchen to request some food. To my astonishment, there was no one there. A boost to my amazement came when I discovered the entire dwelling was unmanned. I rushed through rooms, calling before their respective residents but it all went in vain. Then I used my phone for contact, but it also welcomed me with a fiasco. Anxious but option-less, I sat on the sofa to calm my being. After fifteen minutes of worried rest, I heard a clunk in the kitchen and dashed to it. After entering a kitchen dominated fish’s stench, I unearthed there was nothing fishy.


Subsequently, I retried to find out any of my relatives or get connected digitally but former outputs replicated. Then I dropped myself on the bed and burst into tears. With a dim soul and unpleasant mood, I unintentionally fell asleep.


My mind woke me up and I re-joined the edgy situation. This time there were greater surprises awaiting. I headed to the lavatory and there I heard peculiar screeches outside. I swiftly winded up to probe the noises and revealed that there was an eccentric creature sabotaging surrounding commodities. Excessively petrified, on the scale of pitch, my voice landed on the upper bound as I screamed all the way back inside. I re-approached the washroom, locking the door and murmuring prayers for miraculous assistance. Nothing altered, except for the volume of the creature’s voice, which incremented. After minutes of chaotic environment, calmness dominated. I made my way outside with hesitant steps and a shivering body. As soon as I entered the very first of outside, manifested identical a creature in swag and clutched me hard. My being seized as he persisted and in a couple of moments gobbled me.


At first, I thought it was the tongue of that creature but later I realized it was the mattress of my bed. The sentiment of going to the college crossed my mind, but thank God, it was Sunday

10 views0 comments
bottom of page